patron saints of deconversion

March 3, 2009 at 5:56 pm 3 comments

images1lauradee24 recently posted on James Dobson, and how she was thankful for his teaching which ironically led her to atheism. He was a factor in my deconversion as well, in that he provided a disconnect between what I believed and what the christian community around me believed. I knew that there were other worlds of christians out there, but being removed from them pushed me to question my own faith more and to search for reasons why I disagreed. I have no doubt that had I been in a more liberal church setting I would have been less prone to question my beliefs. So in a way that is a tragedy of the conservative and fundamentalist church, but at the same time I am happy to be intellectually free from both.

I think Ken Hamm would be my patron saint of deconversion. I never believed his young earth creation/Answers in Genesis (YEC/AIG), uh, stuff, in all my years of being a christian, having come into christianity with firm beliefs in scientific reasoning, an old earth, and evolution. But when confronted by christians with AIG material, it was difficult to comprehend and articulate why I didn’t believe in it, even though I felt so very opposed.

Any other patron saints out there?

[previous rest of post split into new, future post — I think I put too much together],

Entry filed under: bible, doubt, faith.

job and literalism skipping small group

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DagoodS  |  March 4, 2009 at 4:08 pm

    I would have to add Josh McDowell. I was impressed with “Evidence that demands a Verdict” until I started to research the claims presented. As I watched other skeptics hack the claims to bits, I felt…almost lied to.

  • 2. atimetorend  |  March 5, 2009 at 2:46 am

    Gleason Archer on how to approach “biblical difficulties”: “Be fully persuaded in your own mind that an adequate explanation exists, even though you have not found it . . .”

  • 3. Ben Sanders  |  September 7, 2009 at 9:37 am

    My wife bought McDowell’s ‘Evidence’ for me as part of her attempt to convert me. I had not bothered to pursue it, being convinced by the argument that no amount of evidence would really be sufficient to prove a resurection 2000 years ago. My wife may eventually hold it up as unexamined evidence or a symbol of ignored truth. Could anyone send me some links to those refutations?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Posts

current and recent reads

read:
not much

reading:
Russell Shorto: Descartes' Bones: A Skeletal History of the Conflict between Faith and Reason

to read:
???

I support Kiva.org

Kiva - loans that change lives

Categories

wordpress visitor

