flat

April 16, 2009 at 2:12 pm 4 comments

images2I find myself less and less interested in moderate Christianity. I know it is not something I will believe, as in faith, but at least the people are nice and interesting, and not afraid to ask questions and to live in the mystery of their faith, as opposed to the fundamentalist bull shit certainty of faith.

It’s a reasonable place to be for the family, moderate Christianity, my wife can feel her spiritual connections, I can feel my not-being-preached-at-or-talked down-to connections. I don’t worry so much about the kids being taught they are going to hell.

And it is good to be learning still about Christianity. Out-studying those around me makes my unbelief more defensible, both to them and to myself. It has been an interesting trip to this point and I’m learning how to use my mind in ways I haven’t before, so that’s good. I enjoy the bible stories as far as that relates to studying history, and that means the history of how and why the texts were written, not the stories told in its narratives.

But I’m losing interest. I don’t really want to discuss how you are loving God and loving other people because God is real to you, even if you leave room for interpreting who or what that means. Even if I am happy that you find that kind of meaning for yourself. Because the bible is patently more and more false to me.

It is easy to skewer the fundamentalist inerrent view of scripture, but it is a lot harder to do so with the progressive versions, which leave a lot more wiggle room in interpretation. I don’t want to practice it, and I am tired of wading through the arguments. There’s a lot more things in life to worry about, work, family, home, etc, and I make enough of a piss poor job of those things as it is.

Feeling flat and unmotivated. Need to find some way to be myself, whatever that is anymore.

Entry filed under: life.

sermon breakdown The Christians and the Pagans

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TitforTat  |  April 16, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    I know that feeling. ;)

  • 2. Lorena  |  April 16, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Time to volunteer at the nursery! The nursery is a great place to escape during the service ;-)

  • 3. isnessie  |  April 21, 2009 at 8:18 am

    Nicely put. I’m writing a post along a similar line. Thanks for visiting le blog, glad to have found yours. Adding to blogroll.

  • 4. atimetorend  |  April 21, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Thanks for visiting and thanks for the add nessie. I’ll look forward to reading your post.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Posts

current and recent reads

read:
not much

reading:
Russell Shorto: Descartes' Bones: A Skeletal History of the Conflict between Faith and Reason

to read:
???

I support Kiva.org

Kiva - loans that change lives

Categories

wordpress visitor

