night to night reveals knowledge

May 16, 2009 at 11:26 pm 8 comments

duskSat on my back porch this evening and smoked a briar pipe full of black cherry tobacco (Paladin, “It only tastes expensive”), watching the cloudy sky turn to dusk. Gentle breeze, nicely cool, perfect. Partly the nicotine at work, I haven’t felt so happy in months, probably the whole messed up year gone by. Don’t remember feeling really happy period. Topped it off with a small glass of fine whiskey.

I looked up at the sky and tried to imagine I believed in God, let go of the caution I feel regarding belief, realized I wasn’t worried a bit. I could imagine feeling God over all, but I could imagine just as easily the sense of awe at the beauty and power of it all, with no God there. All the arguments for and against the God of the bible melted away — as long as my mind wasn’t engaged it made no difference and I really couldn’t care. What I care about is what is real, and damn if those trees and that sky weren’t real, nobody’s arguments were going to change that. The sky was beautiful, the thunder rolled in the distance, and I was at peace.

The pros and cons of theism, the arguments of the bible, of the philosophers, all that does matter. Matters because people talk in those terms, relate to one another in those terms, and unfortunately, feel others must hold to the same beliefs in the same terms they themselves do. And if you don’t care about the arguments, people will try to walk all over you, or over others you care about, take advantage of the world you live in. But I don’t see how one’s eternal destiny can hinge on all the debate. The world is as it is, I’m not going to change the heavens and the earth.

Psalm 19, sans theism:
Day to day pours forth speech,
And night to night reveals knowledge.
There is no speech, nor are there words;
Their voice is not heard.
Their line has gone out through all the earth,
And their utterances to the end of the world…

Entry filed under: life.

god’s big bang search terms

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mike aka MonolithTMA  |  May 17, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Another great post. I’ve had experiences like that too, with similar conclusions.

  • 2. Lorena  |  May 17, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Nice, post!

    Good, Bible rewriting, too. So, I’ll see you in hell ;-)

    Re:
    And if any man shall take away from the words of the book of this prophecy, God shall take away his part out of the book of life, and out of the holy city, and from the things which are written in this book.
    Revelations 22:19

  • 3. atimetorend  |  May 17, 2009 at 11:00 am

    Nice catch Lorena. Nice to be able to pick and choose now though…

  • 4. The Jesting Fool  |  May 17, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    You pagan.

    The devil has deceived you with his lies. If all that smoking and drinking doesn’t send you to the grave, then the finger of God will most certainly flick you off the edge of the world into the pits of hell!

  • 5. Temaskian  |  May 17, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    Beautiful post. Almost tempts me to take up pipe-smoking. =~)

    That’s a very liberated way of looking at the bible. Never appreciated the poetry of the bible before. I was too serious about the whole thing.

    Just like how I now enjoy Christians songs more. I used to be so tense about them, thinking about the meaning, whether they’re doctrinally sound. Whether it would be pleasing to God. Now I can even close my eyes and sing, indulging in the spirit of the song.

  • 6. atimetorend  |  May 18, 2009 at 10:00 am

    TJF spent his weekend brushing up on Mr. Edwards, “The God that holds you over the pit of hell, much as one holds a spider, or some loathsome insect, over the fire, abhors you, and is dreadfully provoked; his wrath towards you burns like fire; he looks upon you as worthy of nothing else, but to be cast into the fire…

  • 7. atimetorend  |  May 18, 2009 at 2:16 pm

    Oh, and Lorena, I didn’t rewrite anything, I just carefully chose where to stop and start the quote… ;^)

  • 8. freestyleroadtrip  |  May 20, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Great stuff. I feel much like you about the world. Have retained my belief in God thus far and don’t see there will be a need to sacrifice that. But I want to see the wonder in the world much like you and have it bring me to God rather than just some spiritual focus on jumping through the right hoops, living blind to the world. I really like what NT Wright has to say about God’s kingdom continually coming and manifesting itself in the world. It gives me a here and now focus instead of a God will come wisk me off to heaven focus so the world doesn’t matter focus.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Posts

current and recent reads

read:
not much

reading:
Russell Shorto: Descartes' Bones: A Skeletal History of the Conflict between Faith and Reason

to read:
???

I support Kiva.org

Kiva - loans that change lives

Categories

wordpress visitor

