The Year of Living Biblically

June 17, 2009 at 3:41 pm 8 comments

yolbI’m not a book review kind of blogger. The problem is a proper book review takes a lot of time going back over the book, finding some nice quotes, thinking about it for a long time. And if you are using a library book it is that much harder not having the benefit of dog eared pages and underlined sentences. I would like to do that, but don’t have time.

That being said, I like recommending books. I hearby recommend The Year of Living Biblically, by A.J. Jacobs to anyone, Christian, agnostic, searcher, atheist. In this book, Jacobs attempts to live an entire year following all the rules of the bible. In his own words:

The Year of Living Biblically is about my quest to live the ultimate biblical life. To follow every single rule in the Bible – as literally as possible. I obey the famous ones:

  • The Ten Commandments
  • Love thy neighbor
  • Be fruitful and multiply

But also, the hundreds of oft-ignored ones.

  • Do not wear clothes of mixed fibers.
  • Do not shave your beard
  • Stone adulterers

Jacobs is a very funny guy and the book is highly entertaining. I especially liked the thoughful treatment he gives religion. While not shying away from discussing the absurdities of the religion, he really tries to live it and looks for the silver lining in a lot of the crazy practices. Which is interesting, especially as he considers what it would take to really believe the religion. In some places he gets to the point where he can see himself on the edge of possibly being able to believe. He describes his experience like having an alter-ego, who he calls “Jacob.”

Jacobs asks himself why try to do all this. I would be pretty certain a big part of it was to write a book, since he is a writer. But I am sure there is truth in how he answers the question as well:

Why? Well, I grew up in a very secular home (I’m officially Jewish but I’m Jewish in the same way the Olive Garden is an Italian restaurant). I’d always assumed religion would just wither away and we’d live in a neo-Enlightenment world. I was, of course, spectacularly wrong. So was I missing something essential to being a human? Or was half the world deluded?

I decided to dive in headfirst. To try to experience the Bible myself and find out what’s good in it, and what’s maybe not so relevant to the 21st century.

Most of the book relates to the Hebrew Bible, (or Old Testament), but he also spends a portion of the year incorporating New Testament rules as well.

Again, a very enjoyable book, easy read, and crazy funny. It really has helped me to be less quick to throw out the babies of the bible with the bathwater. Philosphers Without Gods went unread because of this book usurping it’s place on my bedside table.

shofarcreation museumajj sheep

Entry filed under: bible, books.

touched by a miracle God always wins

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tysdaddy  |  June 17, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    I met A. J. when he visited my religion & popular culture class at the college I attend. I’d read the book, loved it, and couldn’t wait to meet him. You can find the post on my blog . . . just search for it.

    A. J. is the reason I label myself “reverently agnostic” . . .

  • 2. atimetorend  |  June 17, 2009 at 5:12 pm

    That’s awesome! I’ve been considering adopting that label as well. And here’s your link:
    http://thecheekofgod.wordpress.com/2009/03/31/sacred/

  • 3. tysdaddy  |  June 17, 2009 at 5:40 pm

    Glad you found it . . .

  • 4. AJ Jacobs  |  June 18, 2009 at 12:12 am

    Thanks so much for the writeup! You make me commit the sin of pride. And I love the title of your blog — Ecclesiastes is y favorite book in the Bible.

  • 5. zealofheretic  |  June 18, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Sounds promising :)

  • 6. tysdaddy  |  June 18, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    Holy crap! A comment from A. J.! How cool is that?! Congrats . . .

  • 7. atimetorend  |  June 18, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    Yes, that was a big surprise and very cool! Maybe not as cool as a picture of myself with AJ… :^)

  • […] Year of Living Like Jesus, by Ed Dobson, follows the genre of The Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs. In fact Jacobs even provides an endorsement of the book. Dobson does as the title […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Posts

current and recent reads

read:
not much

reading:
Russell Shorto: Descartes' Bones: A Skeletal History of the Conflict between Faith and Reason

to read:
???

I support Kiva.org

Kiva - loans that change lives

Categories

wordpress visitor

