existential crises

October 3, 2009 at 10:46 pm 5 comments

sartreI guess the good part about suffering through relational crises as my beliefs have changed is that they have overshadowed any existential crisis I might have experienced during the past year. Gotta look on the bright side. I wonder if those will come to the surface at some point.

Entry filed under: life.

Orwell’s rules for English bread and wine

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sabio Lantz  |  October 4, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    Not sure I understand.

    Are you saying you had two problems:

    1) Relationship conflicts because of leaving the flock
    2) Mental conflicts of giving up your old beliefs

    and that #1 helped you not to feel #2 as acutely?

    My mental conflicts were easy to get over, by the relationship stuff took several years for me. I finally split with the woman I was with and it was a great relief for her to not worry about my soul and to be with a non-believer (her parents were missionaries in India) and it was great relief for me to not be looked down on and doubted constantly. Oddly enough 10 years later she gave up the faith and we both laugh at the conflict that no longer exists.

  • 2. Temaskian  |  October 5, 2009 at 9:20 am

    For me, I wonder if I’m using existential crises to numb the pain from the relationships I left behind.

    Nah, probably not.

  • 3. atimetorend  |  October 5, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    Sabio, mean to say your item 1. has the potential to be masking item 2. I feel the same way as you, mental struggles with changing beliefs are easier to get over than relational issues.

  • 4. Joshua  |  October 28, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Mine seemed to work backwards. I went through the existential crisis and am now dealing with relationships. Hehe, life is funny sometimes.

  • 5. Kay  |  November 7, 2009 at 11:44 am

    When I left my church I gave up a few deep friendships. It was hard.

    During the transition, however, I developed some new friendships. They helped me through the existential crisis part. (I even ended up marrying one of them.) :-D

    After I left and after I got married and moved out of state, one of those previous (very good) friends died. When I found out (about a year after the fact) it was devastating. It was then that I went through a true crisis.

    In hindsight, I wish I hadn’t cut off contact from her (out of fear that she’d shun me). I wish I’d given her the benefit of the doubt. I’m sure she would have preached to me and maybe even shunned me, but I think I’d feel better now if I had tried to remain her friend.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Posts

current and recent reads

read:
not much

reading:
Russell Shorto: Descartes' Bones: A Skeletal History of the Conflict between Faith and Reason

to read:
???

I support Kiva.org

Kiva - loans that change lives

Categories

wordpress visitor

