irreducible complexity

January 27, 2010 at 10:58 pm 5 comments

Here is a link to a really good new blog, Irreducible Complexity.

The author of the blog, Ian, says about himself and his writing:

I study the bible, with bits of Christian origins and early Christianity thrown in. I’m also an atheist, both in the sense of not-believing-there-is-a-God, and believing-there-is-no-God. I’m fascinated by all kinds of things, from typography to chess, from conlangs to competitive swimming, from creative cartography to the mathematics of music.

This is my bible and religion blog. I have been studying the bible for 20 years now. I’m particularly interested in New Testament criticism, although I have a soft spot for non-canonical Christian literature and try to dabble and keep up with the broad movements in Hebrew Bible scholarship and early church history.

Ian is a very intelligent, sympathetic, and well-informed writer. If you are interested in the Bible and Christianity you will definitely learn something by visiting his site. Enjoy!

Entry filed under: bible, Christianity, writing. Tags: , .

“yoked marriages” page deconstructing daniel

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Woeful Budgie  |  January 28, 2010 at 12:40 am

    Cool! Seems interesting.

  • 2. Temaskian  |  January 29, 2010 at 1:54 am

    I have one and a half commonality with Ian. I used to be interested in the bible, but I’m still interested in chess.

  • 3. Laughing Boy  |  January 31, 2010 at 10:03 pm

    Ian seems two-dimensional, and cartoon-ish to me. ;-)

  • 4. atimetorend  |  January 31, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    Laughing Boy, ha, ha, and you appear childish. But to go by my avatar, I am even more so. :^)

  • 5. tysdaddy  |  February 13, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    Thanks for the link. I’ll have to swing by and check out his site. Seems like it might be right up my alley . . .

    Good to read you again, my friend. It’s been too long . . .

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Posts

current and recent reads

read:
not much

reading:
Russell Shorto: Descartes' Bones: A Skeletal History of the Conflict between Faith and Reason

to read:
???

I support Kiva.org

Kiva - loans that change lives

Categories

wordpress visitor

