color spectrum

March 14, 2010 at 10:22 pm 6 comments

My wife is not a fan of the title track on the new They Might Be Giants album, “Science is Real,” she thinks it is anti-religious (she has a good point). And while she is OK with the message of the song, “My Brother the Ape,” she isn’t real big on it either (me too). But I can heartily agree with her when it comes to “Roy G. Biv” — the song rocks! I also like “Why Does the Sun Shine?”. We’ve been enjoying the album with the kids the past couple of weeks.

Entry filed under: music, science. Tags: , , .

epigenetics made me sinful happy passover

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sabio Lantz  |  March 15, 2010 at 5:18 am

    We just listened to the “Science is Real” thing last night. The anti-religion part is healthy — that is, if religion is believing stuff for which we have evidence against. But I agree, the “yeah, yeah, science” stuff was corny. But heck, last week my daughter was tormented by “friends” that she is going to hell and teased about not believing in God. She told me this with tears as I washed dishes. So, giving my kids good strong counter propaganda and good self-images to fight the religious bullshit at school felt appropriate.

    Which album did you guys buy and are you listening to?

  • 2. Christiana  |  March 15, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Loved it. That is the kind of song that gets stuck in your head though. Thanks a lot. :)

  • 3. atimetorend  |  March 15, 2010 at 11:30 am

    Sabio, that stinks that kids can be so cruel like that. I agree with what you wrote in your comment, about things we have evidence against. We borrowed the “Science is Real” album from the library, borrowed their alphabet album not too long ago as well. I’ve enjoyed TMBG since 1990 though, their “grown up” music (quotes because it is only semi grown-up!).

    Christiana, I started to play the song while writing that up and received a quick comment, “Don’t play that and get it stuck in my head again…” :^)

  • 4. Lorena  |  March 15, 2010 at 11:05 pm

    Glad to hear you’re managing to enjoy your kid’s music. I hear that it isn’t always easy to do that.

  • 5. Spanish Inquisitor  |  March 20, 2010 at 11:48 am

    Rockin’ song. I like it.

    Rather than defend them, though when your wife says

    “Science is Real,” … is anti-religious

    I’ll just say, yes. She’s right. But science IS anti-religious, and good for science. I’ll take evidence based knowledge over ignorance based knowledge every day. As long as religion purports to claim ‘truth”, science will always be anti-religious, as it should be.

  • 6. Eruesso  |  March 29, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    It’s been years since I’ve listened to anything by They Might be Giants. My neurons have always associated them with the city of Istanbul (Not Constantinople) whenever it pops up during my readings of Christian and Muslim histories.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Posts

current and recent reads

read:
not much

reading:
Russell Shorto: Descartes' Bones: A Skeletal History of the Conflict between Faith and Reason

to read:
???

I support Kiva.org

Kiva - loans that change lives

Categories

wordpress visitor

