a gracious van

October 19, 2010 at 11:53 am 7 comments

Here is a picture I took at a stop light a couple of weeks ago. I would have liked to meet the owner of the van, with their interesting combination of bumper stickers; one from a fundamentalist university which once banned a student Democrat club, and the other showing support for the anti-christ now President Obama. I wonder what kind of looks they would receive from passers-by at an alumni weekend back in Lynchburg?

Which reminds me of the bumper sticker on my father’s car, which attended a couple of conservative evangelical church conferences with us. We would always wonder if it raised any eyebrows.

Entry filed under: fundamentalism, funny, liberalism. Tags: , , .

you need Jesus! too many bibles?

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Wise Fool  |  October 19, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    It’s a refreshing reminder that there still are multi-faceted people with independent minds. I give the van driver a virtual hand shake!

  • 2. Sabio / Jōsen  |  October 20, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Yeah, I mix people up being an animal-slaughtering Buddhist type who is socially very liberal but loves guns.
    Keep ’em guessing — life is too short to please “them”!

  • 3. atimetorend  |  October 22, 2010 at 12:22 pm

    Sabio, you should put bumper stickers on your car for all those things!

  • 4. the chaplain  |  October 30, 2010 at 8:51 am

    I refuse to put bumper stickers on my car for aesthetic reasons, but I get a kick out of reading what other people glue onto their vehicles. I made a small concession to my local representative and put his bumper sticker in my back window. Not quite what he wanted, but it’s all he’s going to get from me, besides my vote.

  • 5. 1markt  |  December 13, 2010 at 10:06 am

    What amazes me is how being the christian that you alledge yourself to be, hatred of anything else is the first sentiment that drops from your lips. It just shows that some “christians” are yet and still, assholes.

  • 6. atimetorend  |  December 13, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    mark, your comment makes no sense at all. Unless you think I am a fundamentalist Christian slandering president Obama? If so, that’s not the case.

  • 7. After the Pulpit  |  May 2, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    love the coexist bumper sticker. Another sticker that created cognitive dissonance for me was seeing a Greenpeace sticker on the back of a honkin huge SUV. Huh?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Posts

current and recent reads

read:
not much

reading:
Russell Shorto: Descartes' Bones: A Skeletal History of the Conflict between Faith and Reason

to read:
???

I support Kiva.org

Kiva - loans that change lives

Categories

wordpress visitor

