too many bibles?

October 27, 2010 at 2:24 am 22 comments

(click for bigger image)

Most, but not all, of the bibles in our home, rounded up together. At least one was out-of-town when the photo was taken, and one was retrieved a week later, after a year-long exile in a Quaker Meeting lost and found. There is a massive exhaustive concordance hiding under the pile, a relic I imagine in this Internet age. Readers here may recognize the cute animals front and center.

I just sold the boxed “PERSONAL SIZE GIANT PRINT BIBLE” on the left. It went for $35 in case you are wondering what you would have to shell out for one of your own. :^)

How many bibles do you have?

Entry filed under: bible. Tags: .

a gracious van christians and pagans christmas song

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Clergy Guy  |  October 27, 2010 at 5:07 am

    At the moment, I don’t know, but it would be a bunch. Then again add the books on theology, devotional meditations, counseling, reference, textual studies, and they could bury me.

    It’s interesting that in this computer age, I don’t need so much space for bookshelves anymore, but I can’t get rid of them. It’s like they’re a part of me.

  • 2. Charity  |  October 27, 2010 at 6:22 am

    I have that same “Adventure Bible.” Well, had. I just got rid of the kids’ bibles when I was getting rid of the Christian books I don’t want anymore. They haven’t read them in a long time. Although I have yet to talk to them about the fact that I don’t believe in god anymore, they were more than happy to stop going to church. Now that they are becoming teens, they are not as interested. The kids alone had a half-dozen bibles each, including “The Comic Book Bible” and a couple NT only versions.

  • 3. Lydia  |  October 27, 2010 at 6:40 am

    Only two.

    I use various iPhone apps and websites for most of my bible needs, though. :)

  • 4. Mike AKA MonolithTMA  |  October 27, 2010 at 8:34 am

    At least as many as in the picture. I tend to use biblegateway.com more than the paper bibles these days though.

  • 5. prairienymph  |  October 27, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Yikes. We have a shelf of bibles and two floor to ceiling bookshelves of Christian books. Commentaries, theology, counselling, but mostly biographies. And then there are all the kids’ stuff. (This is after getting rid of a box of Christian books.)

    I don’t know what to do with it all. Especially since all the relatives believe it is their duty to send our kids dvd’s, cd’s and books filled with Christian messages for presents.

    Actually studying the bible was what helped me leave Christianity in the first place so we’ll keep some of it.

  • 6. ... Zoe ~  |  October 28, 2010 at 10:32 am

    Too many.

    I’ve thrown out hundreds of Christian books. It was like a book-burning cathartic moment without the fire. I couldn’t bear to sell them or donate them for fear some poor person would end up in an evangelical fundamentalist literalist cult-like mess, like I did. :-(

    I did throw some Bibles away and have many still here along with a Strong’s Concordance and an Unger’s dictionary. I don’t know why I keep what I do keep.

  • 7. Quixie  |  October 29, 2010 at 6:26 pm

    1- King James Version
    2- Living Bible
    3- Phillips Modern English
    4- Revised Standard Version
    5- Today’s English Version
    6- New International Version
    7- Jerusalem Bible
    8- New English Bible
    9- The Complete Gospels
    10- Interlinear Greek/English
    11- JPS Hebrew/English Tanakh
    12- The Aramaic New Covenant
    13- Huck-Lietzmann Synopsis
    14- Fees Synopsis companion
    15- Ryrie Study Bible
    16- Reader’s Digest Bible
    17- La Palabra de Dios
    18- Translation in Arabic

    That’s just actual bibles . . . don’t get me started on commentaries . . .

    :P

    Ó

  • 8. the chaplain  |  October 30, 2010 at 8:58 am

    We’re in the process of reorganizing our house (including replacing some furniture that badly needed tossing), and have recently given away at least a dozen Bibles, as well as scores of commentaries, etc. I’ve been keeping the lists for tax purposes, so can say with confidence that we’ve donated well over 250 Christian books to charity since August (plus a couple of hundred other, including some atheist tomes). The reason we’ve given away so few Bibles is that the ones we’ve kept have some sentimental value: given to us by parents when we graduated college, that sort of thing. We have some very old, valuable ones too. I think our oldest one was published in 1835 or so.

  • 9. Kay  |  October 31, 2010 at 9:16 pm

    Let’s see …

    A New World Translation Bible (JW)

    A New Revised Standard Version Study Bible w/ Apocrypha

    A Today’s New International Version

    That’s all. I had a few others but have gotten rid of them over the years.

  • 10. Sabio Lantz  |  November 3, 2010 at 3:49 am

    If you count Jewish Bibles (2) , then I have 7. But over the years, with many moves I have left behind dozens. (Wow, I just said “Left Behind” –> an apocalyptic chill just went up my spine!)

    Now, I have lots of other holy texts: Hindu, Buddhists, Muslim, Shinto, Taoist … Heck, I even have a Biology 101 text –> Sciencism!

  • 11. Sabio Lantz  |  November 3, 2010 at 3:52 am

    Seriously, now that I think of it.
    I would love to hear how many non-Christian texts your readers have compared to the number of Christian texts.
    My wager: it is revealing.

  • 12. Quixie  |  November 3, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    I have two translations of the Quran.
    The Kitab and several other Bahai texts.
    The Bhagavad Gītā
    A couple of translations of the Tao Te Ching
    A couple of volumes of Talmudic anthologies.
    I love Rumi and the Sufi mystics..
    Some Hindu anthologies.
    Several books on African diaspora traditions (Santeria, Voudun, Candomblé, Palo, Macumba, etc.)
    The Popol Vuh.
    Jews for Jesus writings (they are incredibly silly to me).
    I even have some even sillier (imo) new age writings, which I won’t bother to name.

    peace

    Ó

  • 13. Like a Child  |  November 6, 2010 at 9:39 am

    This post reminded me of how earlier in the summer, I once bagged up every Bible we owned, particularly the children’s stuff. I was almost ready to give up. I’ve toned down since then and I didn’t get rid of them, but even if I remain within Christianity, it is hard to figure out how and what I will teach my children, since most of the books are presented from the inerrancy perspective. I see you have a kids bible. I was in the process of searching for one when my “crisis” hit. They kind of freak me out, with all the cartoonish figures.

  • 14. theagnosticswife  |  November 8, 2010 at 11:37 am

    We have at least 10 bibles around here. Not to mention quite a few children books and tons of little golden books about God. Howeve,r the stack of atheist books is piling up too. I need to go through them all. We all like to read in this house, so books at times, tend to take over.

  • 15. atimetorend  |  November 8, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Interesting comments about keeping and getting rid of books and bibles. We need to get rid of a lot of books ourselves, our bookshelves are full. I like the bibles a lot more than some of the theological books with what I consider unpleasant theology. Inertia keeps them on the shelves for the moment. I don’t mind keeping the bibles, just that we have a lot of extras, they seem to accumulate.

    Don’t worry Quixie, I won’t get you started on commentaries. :^)

    Sabio, that’s a good question about non-Christian religious texts, I think we have none in our house. Unless one wants to take a hardline evangelical stance and count some Jewish and Quaker writings. No good reason for why we do not, just never had a lot of interest probably.

    Like a Child, I had a conversation with some fathers who have become more progressive in their Christianity where I asked how they teach the stories in the bible if they no longer believe in them literally. They basically felt that it was OK to teach them in a way where the kids believe them, in the same way children believe in Santa Clause or the Easter Bunny, and figured they will make a natural transition to a more allegorical understanding as they get older. I can see how that works with their faith, but coming from a background myself where the stories are expected to be taught and believed literally, I find that difficult.

    Yes, the cartoons are kind of frightening. We had an illustrated bible which was much more true to the text and images, I liked that a lot better. It is out of print now I believe, guess there is more demand for silly cartoons.

  • 16. Lorena  |  December 2, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    I only have like 4, but that’s too many.

    You’ve been to Quaker meetings? I tried it for a while, too.

  • 17. atimetorend  |  December 3, 2010 at 2:27 pm

    I went to Quaker meeting growing up, my mom is a practicing Friend. I like it, and I like much of what Quakers stand for.

  • 18. tysdaddy  |  January 4, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    Oi! Where to begin!

    Just from where I’m sitting, at my desk, I can see my “Bible” shelf, and there are seven there. Various types of commentary, mostly NASB.

    As for the rest of the house, I’m not going there . . .

  • 19. atimetorend  |  January 5, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    Hey tysdaddy, thanks for stopping by. Yes, as for the rest of the house, bibles seem to have a remarkable ability in our home to be squirreled away into many corners…

  • 20. prairienymph  |  January 13, 2011 at 11:56 am

    We are now getting more and more children’s bibles and stories from concerned relatives. I remember the strategy of getting to the kids. I never realized how disrespectful that was before.

  • 21. dam  |  February 3, 2011 at 10:27 am

    Darn. I think I just pressed the wrong button and lost my comment. What a dork. I tried to leave a comment on your “About” page, but couldn’t find where to post it. (Double dork!) Seriously, though, you have an interesting history. I wanted to say welcome to the club–here on the Internet you can come out of the religious closet.

    I have a lot of bibles and other books on religion. You can’t argue your point if you don’t know both sides. :)

  • 22. atimetorend  |  February 4, 2011 at 9:28 am

    I think I turned off comments on the ‘about’ page but never deleted the comments there, so that’s a bit confusing. Thanks for stopping by and reading.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Posts

current and recent reads

read:
not much

reading:
Russell Shorto: Descartes' Bones: A Skeletal History of the Conflict between Faith and Reason

to read:
???

I support Kiva.org

Kiva - loans that change lives

Categories

wordpress visitor