hi again

June 26, 2012 at 11:39 am 14 comments

HI! For a while I have been meaning to write something here, to explain why I am not writing anything here. I am still alive and doing well. I just got really busy, and it has been difficult to overcome inertia to get started here again. We’ll see what happens over the summer. Thank you very much for stopping by.

attr

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

christians and pagans christmas song where we came from

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mike aka MonolithTMA  |  June 26, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    Glad you are doing well!

  • 2. atimetorend  |  June 26, 2012 at 12:42 pm

    Thanks Mike!

  • 3. Mike aka MonolithTMA  |  June 26, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    And I knew you were still alive because you commented at Triangulations a few times over the last few months. ;-)

  • 4. Lac  |  June 26, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    I know the feeling. Would love to get an update of your journey though! The kids are going to VBS at a “healthy” methodist church, and I am quite surprised at how hard it has been for me to listen to the songs at pick-up. So many old memories unleashed of my “unhealthy” church background. Raising kids Christian while I remain agnostic is so, so exhausting at times.

  • 5. Mike aka MonolithTMA  |  June 27, 2012 at 12:28 am

    I can imagine. These days I tend to be more concerned with how people treat each other, rather than what belief system they belong to. My fiance and I finally got married a month ago, and we attended a wonderful open and confirming UCC church last summer. I really like the paster and he knows about my lack of belief. I’d be willing to go back.

  • 6. Sam M.  |  June 27, 2012 at 7:52 am

    Glad to hear you’re back and doing well.

  • 7. atimetorend  |  June 27, 2012 at 11:56 am

    @LAC, I’ll have to work on some kind of update, it’s been so long, makes it tough. Our kids just finished up “Peace Camp,” an anabaptist version of VBS at the church we attend, something I am totally on board with. Being a more traditional church than the cultish/fundamentalist/evangelical one we attended in the past, I don’t encounter those emotional triggers with music, or much of anything else either. It is a Christianity much more in tune with who I am., some significant differing beliefs, but over all beliefs that are compatible with who I am.

  • 8. atimetorend  |  June 27, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    @Mike: These days I tend to be more concerned with how people treat each other, rather than what belief system they belong to.

    Certainly everyone should be more concerned with that! Some belief systems are compatible with that statement than others.

  • 9. Mike aka MonolithTMA  |  June 27, 2012 at 12:27 pm

    Very true.

  • 10. Sabio Lantz  |  July 2, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    Well, I had the honor of meeting atimetorend in person and hiking through boulders with he and his great kids. Then with his wife, their kids and my son we shared a fine Vietnamese meal.

    It was fun to meet another blogger.
    ATR has lots of fun stuff to share — we all hope he starts writing again.

    Hey Dude

  • 11. atimetorend  |  July 5, 2012 at 11:50 am

    @Sabio: Hey, have been meaning to write you… Likewise, we had the honor of meeting you and your son, the highlight of my summer so far. And for those reading, contrary to popular opinion, Sabio is a very generous and gracious guy. ;^)

  • 12. Sabio Lantz  |  July 5, 2012 at 6:34 pm

    Please don’t ruin my image. If you say nice things, people will expect better behavior — I hate expectations! :-)

  • 13. Andrew Hackman  |  July 6, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    I am always interested to hear from people who tend toward the agnostic, but still attend church. I think I might be able to swing that if there were some more relaxed churches around; but here in the SLC area we pretty much only have LDS and conservative evangelical.

  • 14. atimetorend  |  July 7, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    Hi Andrew, thanks for reading.

    I am always interested to hear from people who tend toward the agnostic, but still attend church.

    Me too! We are at a church now that is orthodox in Christian belief, but also very flexible and accepting in what to me is a unique way, more on that later. If we hadn’t it would be very hard for me to attend, certainly could not see myself at LDS or conservative evangelical.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

Recent Posts

current and recent reads

read:
not much

reading:
Russell Shorto: Descartes' Bones: A Skeletal History of the Conflict between Faith and Reason

to read:
???

I support Kiva.org

Kiva - loans that change lives

Categories

wordpress visitor

